Of Power Tools and Sanctification

Well, I’m 40 now. But this isn’t a post about my aging. It’s about a present. My wife bought me a router for my birthday. Not the computer type, the send sawdust flying in the garage type.

I’m pretty happy about this. I like building things, and this will allow me to build more and different things.

What does this have to do with sanctification?

Well, my dad, I am sure like many of your dads, passed along some sage wisdom as I was growing up and we would make birdhouses or pine wood derby cars together. One of those bits was, “Let the tool do the work.” Most of us who have spent much time with a tool in our hands understand that bit of wisdom.

Funny thing about tools. I have several in my garage already, and I feel pretty safe in assuming this router is no different. I can set them in that garage, have wood, and even plans sitting on my workbench, and nothing will happen. I can’t completely let the tools do the work. I have to put some effort into the process.

God has given us everything we need in Jesus. We are justified by his sacrifice in our place on the cross. He has given us a workshop, if you will. He has given us gifts in his word and his Holy Spirit. The tools. But unless we put our hand to them and use what he has given us, not much will be produced.

We can go out in our garage and look at the wonderful tools he has given us, and proclaim that they are, “All of the Lord.” And we would be right. But we would also not be “Working out our salvation….”

Can I be saved without “doing something?” A lot of people would argue on both sides of that one. Can I have a workshop without ever building anything? Obviously. The question for both of those is, “What’s the point?”

So, in the next day or two, off I will go to Lowes. I will buy some router bits and some wood, and I will put this router to use. Just like I open God’s word and pray. Both produce more in my life, when I set my hand to them, to use what I have been blessed with.

Leave a comment