Writers Write

That is a blinding flash of the obvious. But the obvious often seems to escape us in practice.

I enjoy words, I like to write. Discussing goals last night with my wife, I think I need a writing goal.

250 words per day minimum. 500 is my goal.

I’ll do it on my blog because it allows accountability. Statistically, it is only read slightly more than my private journal. It counts words while I type, so that’s a plus.

Another thing writers do is read. Here’s what I am currently reading, and is on-deck.

A Failure of Nerve: Leadership in the Age of the Quick Fix, by Edwin H. Friedman. This is the first leadership book I’ve read in over 5 years. I don’t like leadership books and the whole “leadership” movement that has infected the church and business. I think it largely feeds ego and does little to actually help organizations and those charged with leading them. That being said, this one is good so far because the author is viewing the landscape from a decidedly different perspective than other authors I have read or been subjected to.

Humility of Heart, by Fr. Cajetan Mary da Bergamo, translated by Herbert Cardinal Vaughn. I’m only about 2 dozen pages in on this one, but if it was only that long, it would have been worth the read. Vaughn translated it after carrying around and reading and rereading the original French for years. The translation was one of the last things he did before dying early in the twentieth century.

Sayings of the Desert Fathers: The Alphabetical Collection, Translated by Benedicta Ward, SLG. I’m on my third (maybe fourth?) trip through this tome. I read 2 pages a day normally and am continually challenged and encouraged by these sayings that have been handed down from the early monastics and hermits of the Christian church.

I’m also working through Celebration of Discipline, by Richard Foster, with a small group. It’s been interesting to reread this one with a viewpoint that has substantially shifted from the first time I picked it up as an undergraduate. Back then, I was a partially-formed Anabaptist. Since then, I have revisited it a few times along the way. Now that I am fairly well anchored in a conservative Anglican worldview, Foster’s work is appearing in some ways quite shallow, both historically and practically. That being said, it is still generating good conversations and challenging the diverse group to explore these practices as ways of drawing closer to God.

And on deck are two I recently acquired, Scripture and the Authority of God: How to Read the Bible Today, by N. T. Wright and Spiritual Direction, by Martin Thornton. I feel obligated to read some Wright, being Anglican, and I have an interest in hermeneutics, so it should be interesting. The Thornton book comes as I have been reminded of his work English Spirituality which I read 2 years ago (I think). I find myself having an increasing interest in “spiritual direction” coming out of my discovery this year of Thomas Merton and reading Gregory the Great’s Pastoral Rule.

Undoubtedly, my reactions and reflections on some of these will find their ways into these digital pages.

1 Comment

Filed under Discipline, Writing

One response to “Writers Write

  1. Pingback: Meaninglessness | As You Go

Leave a Reply

